Back to Top

124 Armsdale Rd, Suite 1

Kittanning, Pa 16201

Phone: 724-548-3425




2022 Armstrong County Envirothon Results

The 17th Armstrong County Envirothon was held at the Outdoor Discovery Center on April 27, 2022. Ten teams of high school students from Armstrong High School, Apollo-Ridge High School, Leechburg High School, Lenape Tech School, and West Shamokin Jr. Sr. High School competed against each other in the event.

The Envirothon is designed to give students an opportunity to acquire and demonstrate their knowledge of environmental resources and their connection to each other and human activities. The students are challenged in the areas of aquatic ecology, forestry, soil / land use, wildlife, and a current environmental issue. The 2022 current environmental issue was “Waste to Resource.”

Technical expertise was provided by the following individuals: Mandy Smith (PA Fish & Boat Commission) at the Aquatics station; Christopher Bence and Denton Schellhammer (PA Game Commission) at the Wildlife station; Laurel Hoffman (Kittanning NRCS) at the Soils and Land Use station, Dr. Holly Travis (IUP) at the Current Issue station; and Holly May and Jessica Pierce (DCNR) at the Forestry station.

Financial sponsors of the 2022 Envirothon are the Arrowhead Chapter of Trout Unlimited, Young & Associates, Jescar, LLC, Elderton State Bank, Armstrong Sportsman League, Crooked Creek Watershed, Bankson Engineers Inc., Kiskiminetas Watershed Association, J. H. Hickman Surveying, Redmill Drilling, BLX, Inc., MECALL Services, and Apex Energy, LLC. Ford City Subway donated lunches to the students and volunteers.

The Lenape Tech School winning team will represent Armstrong County at the Pennsylvania State Envirothon at Camp Mt. Luther on May 25, 2022.

1st Place
1st Place- Lenape Tech School-The Narwhals
Left to right: Jesse Hilko, Brady Foster, Morgan Wolfe, Jacob Sulkowski
2nd Place
2nd Place- West Shamokin High School- The Bio Bosses
Left to Right: Martina Houser, Samantha Semler, Marisa Krizmanich, Haleigh Newell, RJ Kirkwoody
3rd Place
3rd Place Team-Armstrong High School-The Flamingos
Left to Right: Josh Fouse, MJ Pooley, Trent Stross, Race Prince, Sara Hartzell
Envirothon participant
Participants of the 2022 Armstrong County Envirothon



124 Armsdale Rd, Suite 1
Kittanning, Pa 16201
Phone: 724-548-3425

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.